Julian Jones is Vice-Principal at Heriot-Watt University. He gained his BSc and PhD at the University of Wales, Aberystwyth before becoming a Lecturer at the University of Kent at Canterbury.  

Since 1988, he has been at Heriot-Watt University, establishing a research group in optical fibre sensors, optical instrumentation and laser-material interactions.  In 1992 he became Professor of Engineering Optics, in 1998 Head of Physics and in 2002 Head of the School of Engineering and Physical Sciences.  In 2007, he became Deputy Principal for Strategy and Resources, and in 2010 Vice-Principal.  

Julian is a Director of OptoSci Ltd.  In 2010 he was appointed to the Scottish Science Advisory Council and in 2014 to the Defence Scientific Advisory Council.  He has been President of the UK Consortium for Photonics and Optics, a member of the Technical Opportunities Panel of the EPSRC, and the RCUK Basic Technologies Strategic Advisory Committee.  Julian was appointed as Honorary Treasurer of the Institute of Physics in 2011.  

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Optical Society of America and the Institute of Physics.  He was appointed as an Officer of the Order of the British Empire in the New Year’s Honours of 2002, ‘for services to science and engineering’.